Bruno Mantovani
Composer, CNLB Fellow 1999-2000

“Even more than for a performer, the transition between the end of studies and the beginning of a career is a critical moment for a composer. A creator performs on stage only through others, and there are few places where he can meet those who will later perform his music. The Ircam Workshop is precisely one of those places where it is possible to make one's work known, in addition to learning how to use new technologies. It has become an obligatory rite of passage for any young composer. Without the help of the CNLB, I would not have been able to devote myself full time to this training which was a determining factor in my career.”

Suzana Bartal
Pianist, CNLB Fellow 2008-2009


“Becoming a CNLB Fellow was a great honour for me. This help offered the opportunity to carry out my second year of studies at the CNSMDP in much greater security. Arriving in France shortly before, I did not meet the criteria to receive a scholarship from the Conservatory. I therefore had to work to earn a living while I was studying. I am very grateful to the CNLB for having been at my side during this crucial period of my training as an artist and for having allowed me to devote this precious time to my studies in order to become the concert performer I am today.”

Karol Beffa
Composer, CNLB Fellow 2002-2003


“Even more so than for a young performer, for a young composer to succeed in making a breakthrough is a crucial question. I will never be grateful enough to the CNLB for supporting me at the beginning of my career as a musician. At an age when one is so frequently tormented by questions and doubts, I was able to benefit from a scholarship from the CNLB: this mark of confidence was extremely precious for me.”

Dana Ciocarlie
Pianist, CNLB Fellow 1994-1995


“I was honoured and fortunate to be a recipient of the Nadia and Lili Boulanger scholarship during my studies in the CNSMD's advanced cycle in Dominique Merlet’s class. Thanks to my teacher's background and to my origins in the Romanian school of pianism, I am very proud to be a recipient of this scholarship. I feel strongly anchored in the lineage of Nadia Boulanger who was Dinu Lipatti’s teacher. The scholarship therefore affected me strongly; it came at a difficult time in my life and helped me prepare international competitions and recordings. Afterwards, I had the pleasure of playing the works of Nadia and Lili Boulanger several times in concerts.”

Violeta Cruz
Composer, CNLB Fellow 2011-2012

“As a young foreign student, I had to work to pay for my studies, even though my composition course at the Paris Conservatory was very demanding. Thanks to the support of the CNLB I was able to continue my studies of Composition in the best conditions.”

Tedi Papavrami
Violonist, CNLB Fellow 1989-1990


“The CNLB scholarship which I was lucky to receive during my early years was absolutely providential in my career. I was 18 years old, but because of my early start, my formal education was already behind me for some time. Conscious nevertheless of having much still to learn and achievd, I am in debt to the CNLB for having allowed me not to plunge too abruptly into the professional world out of sheer necessity, and to have been able to choose my musical projects in this delicate period of construction.”

Bruno Mantovani
Compositeur, boursier du CNLB en 1999-2000

« Plus encore que pour un interprète, la transition entre la fin des études et le début de carrière est un moment délicat pour un compositeur. En effet, un créateur ne se produit sur scène que par l'intermédiaire des autres et il existe peu de lieux où il peut rencontrer ceux qui diffuseront plus tard sa musique. Outre le fait que l'on y apprend l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies, le Cursus de l'Ircam est précisément un de ces endroits où il est possible de faire connaître son travail. Il est devenu un passage obligé pour tout jeune compositeur. Sans l'aide du CNLB, je n'aurais pu me consacrer à plein temps à cette formation qui fut déterminante dans mon parcours. »

Suzana Bartal
Pianiste, boursière du CNLB en 2008-2009


« Devenir boursière du CNLB a été pour moi un grand honneur. Cette aide m’a offert la possibilité de vivre ma deuxième année d'études au CNSMDP beaucoup plus sereinement. Arrivée en France peu de temps avant depuis l’étranger, je ne repondais pas aux critères d’obtention de bourse du Conservatoire. Je devais donc, parallèlement à mes études, travailler pour gagner ma vie. Je suis très reconnaissante au CNLB d’avoir été à mes côtés dans cette période cruciale de ma formation en tant qu'artiste et de m'avoir ainsi permis de consacrer ce temps précieux à mes études pour devenir la concertiste que je suis aujourd'hui. »

Karol Beffa
Compositeur, boursier du CNLB en 2002-2003


« Plus encore que pour un jeune interprète, réussir à percer, pour un jeune compositeur, est une question cruciale. Je ne serai jamais assez reconnaissant au CNLB de m’avoir soutenu à l’orée de ma carrière de musicien. A un âge où l’on est volontiers assailli par les interrogations et par les doutes, j’ai pu bénéficier d’une bourse du CNLB : ce témoignage de confiance m’a été extrêmement précieux. »

Dana Ciocarlie
Pianiste, boursière du CNLB en 1994-1995


« J’ai eu l’honneur et la chance d’être bénéficiaire de la bourse d’études Nadia et Lili Boulanger durant mes études en cycle de perfectionnement du CNSMD dans la classe de Dominique Merlet. Par le parcours de mon professeur et par mon école pianistique d’origine, l’école roumaine, je me

ressens fortement ancrée dans la filiation de Nadia Boulanger qui a été professeur de Dinu Lipatti. La bourse m’a donc beaucoup touchée ; elle est arrivée dans une période difficile de ma vie et elle m’a aidée à préparer concours internationaux et enregistrements. Par la suite j’ai eu plusieurs fois le bonheur de jouer en concert des œuvres de Nadia et de Lili Boulanger. »

Violeta Cruz
Compositrice, boursière du CNLB en 2011-2012


« En tant que jeune étudiante étrangère, je devais travailler en parallèle à mes études, même si mon cursus de Composition au Conservatoire de Paris était très chargé. Grâce au soutien du CNLB j’ai pu poursuivre mes études de Composition dans les meilleures conditions. »

Tedi Papavrami
Violoniste, boursier du CNLB en 1989-1990


« La bourse d’études du CNLB dont j’ai eu la chance de bénéficier dans mes jeunes années fut tout à fait providentielle dans mon parcours. J’avais 18 ans et en raison de débuts précoces mes études officielles étaient depuis un moment derrière moi. Conscient néanmoins d’avoir beaucoup à apprendre et à parfaire, je lui dois de m’avoir permis de ne pas plonger trop brusquement dans le monde professionnel par pure nécessité et de choisir mes projets musicaux dans cette période délicate de construction.»