Nguyen Thien Dao (1940-2015)

Composer Nguyen Thien Dao was born in Hanoi in 1940 and moved to France at a very young age, in 1953. In 1967 at the age of 23 he entered the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris in Olivier Messiaen's class: it was a decisive encounter and he won his composition prize after only one year (1968). Messiaen was an unwavering support for Nguyen Thien Dao, whom he considered "one of the most original composers of our time". Having composed a great deal, Nguyen Thien Dao saw himself as the heir of two civilizations, Western values and Eastern mystical inspiration.

Deeply grateful for the unfailing support that he had received during his studies and his career, he and his wife wished to set up a financial aid program for young musicians to continue their studies in France whether or not they were Asian nationals.


The CNLB Nguyen Thien Dao Scholarships

One of the CNLB's means of action is to award substantial scholarships to musicians of exceptional merit under the age of 32, rigorously selected in their respective disciplines - performance, composition and musicology - by an international jury appointed to this purpose. Mrs. Hélène Nguyen Thien wishes to perpetuate the memory of her husband by associating herself with the CNLB scholarship program.

Study projects:

candidates must present a study project that takes place in France with professors who allow them to benefit from French musical education. There is always a one-year delay between submitting the application and the year of the scholarship: the study project is therefore drawn up and submitted two years in advance.


Application conditions:

access to CNLB Nguyen Thien Dao scholarships are identical to those of the CNLB.

Application conditions

Nguyen Thien Dao (1940-2015)

Le compositeur Nguyen Thien Dao est né à Hanoi en 1940 et s’est installé en France très jeune, en 1953. A l’âge de 23 ans, il entre au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris où il accède en 1967 à la classe d’Olivier Messiaen : c’est une rencontre décisive et il obtient son prix de composition en une année seulement, en 1968. Messiaen fut un soutien inébranlable pour Nguyen Thien Dao qu’il tenait pour " un des compositeurs les plus originaux de notre époque ". Ayant beaucoup composé, Nguyen Thien Dao se considérait comme héritier de deux civilisations, les valeurs occidentales et l’inspiration mystique orientale.

Profondément reconnaissant du soutien sans faille qu’il avait reçu pendant ses années d’études et pendant sa carrière, il a souhaité, avec son épouse Hélène, mettre en place un programme d’aide financière destiné à de jeunes musiciens, ressortissants ou non d’un pays asiatique, afin qu’ils poursuivent leurs études en France.


Les bourses d'études

Nguyen Thien Dao du CNLB

L’un des moyens d’actions du CNLB est l’attribution de bourses d’études substantielles à des musiciens âgés de moins de 32 ans, rigoureusement sélectionnés dans leurs disciplines respectives - interprétation, composition et musicologie - par un jury international nommé à cet effet. Madame Hélène Nguyen Thien souhaite pérenniser la mémoire de son mari en s’associant au programme des bourses d’études du CNLB.

Projets d'études :

Les candidats doivent présenter un projet d’études qui se déroule en France auprès de professeurs qui les font bénéficier de l’enseignement musical français. Il y a toujours un an de décalage entre le dépôt du dossier et l’année de la bourse : le projet d’études est donc formulé et déposé deux années à l’avance.


Conditions d'accès :

Les conditions d’accès aux bourses Nguyen Thien Dao du CNLB sont identiques à celles du CNLB.

Conditions d'accès